Welcome!

I'm glad you stopped by! Sit down, have a cool
drink. Visit me here at Mama's blog. Enjoy. Leave a
comment!

Mama Willow

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Party Politics

I'm frustrated, angry and sometimes bemused about the party conventions!  I want to watch my regular shows but feel a responsibility to know what's going on in my own country's politics. 

I'm an Independent and usually an Undecided.  My vote is a paradox - I realize that the man (or hopefully one day, woman) can only do what his party tells him, and I know the basic party lines don't change.  And yet, I come down on the side of the man and not the party!  I guess I'm more group think that I think I am.

Their platform "planks" don't move me.  Promises made don't move me.  Republicans have to be pro-life although the president has no authority to do anything about abortion and even if he could, wouldn't touch that hot potato.  Democrats have to be for social programs although it costs citizens dearly in taxes to pay for them.  Year after year each party candidate shouts about being for or against abortion, gay marriage, gays in general, government spending, immigration and then does nothing when they finally get in.  I remember George Bush at his convention, speaking Spanish to his Hispanic voters, promising all kinds of perks to their communities.  Yeah, that happened.  And Obama promising a change and hope - not so much.

Some of my friends vote along moral lines.  The Christian (from the right denomination); the one who champions pro-life; the one who is anti "gay agenda".  Drives me up a wall.  How does a man's moral compass make him a credible CEO of the company known as USA?  Some people I know go for the man who looks good,  who represents to foreign governments, who is conciliatory.  Again, how does a nice guy apply to global finance and war?  Reagan was everybody's grandfather, Kennedy was a handsome playboy wink wink, Bush was the quintessential cowboy, Clinton was cool, Palin was 'just like us' soccer mom, Obama is, well, ethnic and a nice family man.  None of which fits them for the job!!

And yet, they did a credible job with what they were allowed to do by handlers and the opposition.  They had their hits and they had their misses, like the rest of we unwashed masses.

So the RNC just ended, the DNC is tonight.  There will be comparisons, we'll like and hate some of what we hear from both.  Party faithful will cheer for their guy no matter what he says and criticize the opposition.  Both will accuse the other of telling lies.  Both will trot out some sentimental character who steals the show with a goofy speech meant to make the candidate look human.  Their wives will tell us all what a loving husband she has.  We'll be told that he wants to return us to the Real America... uh, and that is???  50s?  20s?  Beaver Cleaver?  Thomas Jefferson???

But basically, who doesn't already know who they're voting for?  Between now and November gobs of money will be spent and miles clocked for last minute campaigning - when 9 out of 10 of us have already made up our minds.

Based on.......????  Promises are empty, it's all a show... In the end, we continue to vote for the man, not the party platform.  Hopefully not for his religion, or because of ridiculous smears (put out by the candidate himself to garner hype), or because he plays the sax, reminds of of the good old days or has either an assertive or 'purty' little wife.

I hope the vote is based on experience, integrity and balance.

No comments:

Post a Comment